My Rest Will Come

My rest will come once I am done the work I am called to do.

I ask for strength and the wisdom to know when to rest and when to push through the wall of limited human limitation.

I am in this to win not for myself, but for my future son who will bear the name of two great men, but for my future daughter who will bear the blood of a legacy of strong women.

Why don’t I rest?

I don’t rest because of the minds I can inspire,

I don’t rest because of the hopes I can ignite,

I don’t rest for in rest seconds, minutes, and hours for change will be tick-tock taken away.

I will rest only on those things that will prevent me from reaching my rest once my work is done.

I will only rest on those things that no longer need my attention.

I will rest on those things, so that I can complete the work I am called to do.

For only then my rest will come.

– A Poem by Joel E. Ruffin Jr. – An Agoránian

Leave a comment